Homecoming Weekend
Northwestern State’s Homecoming football game against Southeast Missouri State University kicks off tomorrow at 1:00pm. I hope you can join us for the game and for tailgating at Collins Pavilion that starts at 10:00am.

I look forward to seeing an energetic crowd, as the Demons defend their 1st place Southland Conference lead.

Students, please take a minute to review the updated student gameday guidelines so we can all have a safe and fun weekend. Special thanks to SGA for providing these standards.

Long Purple Line
NSU will induct six alumni into the University’s hall of distinction, the Long Purple Line. The 2022 inductees are Tommy Chester and Lola Dunahoe of Natchitoches, Dr. Johnny Cox of Coushatta. Tynes Hildebrand of Shreveport, Gail Metoyer Jones of Natchez, and Carlos Treadway of London, England. The inductees will be honored at the Natchitoches Events Center at noon today.

Hall of Distinguished Educators
A reception for six outstanding education professionals will begin at 9:30am tomorrow, followed by an induction program at 10:00am in the Teacher Education Center commons and auditorium.  Honored with induction into the Gallaspy College of Education and Human Development’s Hall of Distinguished Educators will be Dr. Robert Gillan, Emilyn Horton, Dr. Patsy Sanson Jenkins, Lisa Blakeway Lohman, Walter “Willy” Paz, and Sheila Kay Cole Warner.

N-Club Hall of Fame
Saturday’s annual N-Club Hall of Fame enshrinement ceremony highlights a busy weekend for former Northwestern State student-athletes. The induction ceremony begins at 9:00am in Magale Recital Hall.

Joining the list of honored Northwestern State student-athletes, coaches and staff in the N-Club Hall of Fame this year are 2011 NCAA Outdoor discus champion Trecey Rew-Hoover, 2002 Southland Conference football Defensive Player of the Year Roy Locks, seven-year NFL veteran and 2002 NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships qualifier Craig Nall, All-American cornerback David Pittman, 2006 Southland Conference Basketball Tournament MVP Clifton Lee, three-time All-Southland Conference member and the conference’s former career 3-point record holder Kia Converse, softball standouts Erin Mancuso and Amanda Ortego, who combined for seven All-Southland Conference honors, five-time Southland Conference hurdles champion and NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championship qualifier Brittany Littlejohn and 2002 Southland Conference Pitcher of the Year O.J. King, who was a member of the Southland Conference’s All-Decade Team as well.

Two NSU trailblazers – Louise “Do” Bonin and Melvin Howard — will be honored with the N-Club Pioneer Award.

Educational Opportunity for American Indian Students
This week, I enjoyed a good visit with Dr. Pete Gregory, Professor of Anthropology, Dr. Rebecca Rial, Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice, and John Barbry, Director of Development and Programing for the Tunica-Biloxi Language & Culture Revitalization Program.

We talked about enhancing NSU’s outreach efforts and increasing support for American Indian students. We look forward to meeting the needs of the diverse American Indian student population across Louisiana.

Dr. Marcus D. Jones
Northwestern State University