This week Blaine McCorkle, a youthful veteran of the collegiate coaching ranks with a track record of success at multiple stops, was named the 16th head football coach in Northwestern State history. I extend a warm welcome to Coach McCorkle and his family as they join the Northwestern State community. I am excited to witness the impact of the culture and mindset he brings to campus.

Earlier today, we gathered at the Donald G. Kelly Athletic Complex to kick off a groundbreaking ceremony for the David and Sherry Morgan Health Performance Center—a bold $11 million project revolutionizing NSU Athletics. This marks a pivotal moment in NSU’s journey, and I have been looking forward to this moment for some time.

This center isn’t just a structure; it’s a leap into modernity for NSU. It signifies progress, innovation, and a commitment to excellence in sports. The David and Sherry Morgan Health Performance Center will ensure competitive success, enhance our recruiting experience, enable multi-sport accessibility, and provide access to premier athletic and training equipment.

Distinguished NSU alumni David and Sherry Morgan exemplify an unwavering commitment to Northwestern State University. Their extraordinary $1.5 million donation towards the David and Sherry Morgan Health Performance Center marks an historic milestone as the largest private contribution in Northwestern State Athletics history. David and Sherry Morgan continue to shape the future of Northwestern State University, leaving a permanent mark on the institution and its aspiring student-athletes.

NSU’s Department of Engineering Technology held its annual Robotics Competition this past week, with the theme of “NASA’s Artemis Base Camp on the Moon”. Students designed robots to compete in tests of speed, accuracy, maze, strength, and tug of war. I want to thank Dr. Shahriar Hossain, professor and interim department head, for organizing this year’s competition.

Congratulations to Donnie Bickham Middle School, located in Shreveport, who won first place. Caddo Middle Magnet won second place and North DeSoto Middle won third. Stephanie Mason, team sponsor from North DeSoto, was named STEM Teacher of the Year.

In less than two weeks, we will take a moment to cheer for our students as they step into the next chapter of their lives. I can’t wait to see these well-deserving individuals walk across the stage to receive their diplomas.

Starting Wednesday, December 13, at 10 a.m., we will celebrate the achievements of our graduates from the College of Business and Technology, as well as the Gallaspy College of Education and Human Development. At 2 p.m. we’ll be honoring those from the College of Nursing and School of Allied Health. Ceremonies will commence on Thursday, December 14, at 10 a.m., as graduates from the College of Arts and Sciences and the Louisiana Scholars’ College are recognized and close this chapter of their academic careers.

It’s a great time to be a Demon. I’m excited for the future – for our future. We continue to serve as the critical link between education, training, and the workforce in the great state of Louisiana.

Fork ‘Em Demons!

Dr. Marcus D. Jones
Northwestern State University